The Art and Soul of a Tamarack Sunday

It’s Sunday. Time for a little soul-searching. Tamarack is the place to be. Why not? Forty minutes down I-77 North, and I’ll be there. The sun is shining. It’s a beautiful day. The highway is calling my name, and I’ll have breathtaking views all the way from Princeton. I’ve read about their current art gallery exhibit, West Virginia Wildflowers, online, and I hear that at this week’s Sunday@Two program, The West Virginia Dance Company will be performing.

Fascinating, isn’t it? Truly, Tamarack never fails to overwhelm me with its distinctive architecture and its immaculate grounds. The building itself is a work of art. According to information on the Tamarack website, when viewed from the sky, Tamarack looks like a square from a star-patterned quilt, and yet, this same dramatic red rooftop, upon entering, echoes the peaks and valleys of the mountains that surround it. Tamarck is named after the hardy, robust tamarack tree, a name poignantly apropos for representing West Virginia, a state formed when its citizens intentionally separated from the state of Virginia at the onset of the American Civil War to start anew because of their unwillingness to accept and support the idea of slavery.

Once inside, the art gallery beckons. This exhibit in particular calls to me with its many interpretations of wildflowers. Conglomerations of color, creativity, and artisans’ psyches from around my home state envelop me as I take it all in. “Mountaineers are always free,” our state motto rings, and that is why it does not surprise me that West Virginians are such exceptional artisans. It is my opinion that it takes a free spirit to produce art.

Regardless of already having eaten lunch, I have to partake of some little bite to eat. After some deliberation, I opt for on an oatmeal-raisin cookie with a café latte from the Greenbrier Shoppe. I sit down and enjoy it, taking in the view of the courtyard just outside. I think to myself that I must come back soon to sit outside on this patio to eat dinner or lunch.

There isn’t much time before the Sunday@Two performance, so I snap just a few pictures on my way to the theater. I love the new mod art jumbo flower sculptures and always admire the bronze statues, the hand-crafted furniture, and of course, the quilts. The glass art catches my eye!

And, it’s showtime! The West Virginia Dance Company is the only professional touring dance company in our state. I love modern dance, so I was pleased to learn they are a modern dance company. (I took a modern dance class while at Concord University and it was the only class under the physical education domain in which I ever received an A, I can assure you.) Modern dance, being less structured than its conventional counterpart, ballet, encourages more human emotion and mood into dance. The performance today is an excerpt from the dance company’s most recent show, Exploring Global Treasures, in  which all seven continents are explored and represented, the idea embracing diversity and promoting respect and understanding of cultures outside your own. The dance symbolizing the continent of Asia, pictured here, reflects the history of the continent in its relationship to West Virginia born Pulitzer prize-winner Pearl S. Buck. It focuses on Buck’s experience in China through the four most significant women in her life, beginning with her own mother, Carrie.

West Virginia Dance Company with Founder and Co-Artistic Director, Toneta Akers-Toler, Strike a Casual Pose after the Performance

Now, for the grand finale to this revitalizing day: It’s time to go, and as I’m on my way out, I happen to notice two gals stylin’ some fascinators in the apparel shop, and, of course, I have to go over and take a look. (If you follow me on Facebook, you’ll know that I had just become the proud owner of a hatinator at The Corner Shop just two days before, and I had worn it for this special occasion.) Anyway, I asked them to pose, and they kindly obliged. Beautiful, aren’t they? Both the young ladies and their artistic hats. As my Sunday at Tamarack draws to a close, I draw in one last breath of all it holds, thankful for its artistic inspiration at every turn.

2 thoughts on “The Art and Soul of a Tamarack Sunday

  1. Your photos are always worth 1000 words! (I think I am enjoying typing on the black background.) :-)

Your thoughts? Comments?

